Hello world. My exams and essays are all done and dusted, as is my second year of university. So due to having lots of work to do, I managed to write around 9,000 words in a couple of weeks, I had to take a little hiatus from the blog. But seeing as how I’m now free for the summer, I will try and keep it updated. With this post, I’ll just give you all a brief overview of what I’ve seen recently and how it fares. Turns out their both remakes/reimagings of classic movies, Godzilla and Robocop.

Godzilla (2014)

This film has really grown on me as when I first left the cinema my initial thoughts were: “Those last 30 minutes were amazing, but the human drama build up was frequently boring”. However I have come to appreciate the ‘boring’ bits as they sort of make the ending (and the whole film) work, both tonally and thematically. Tonally, because it really builds anticipation for the King’s first proper appearance, and even when we first see him, we only see his foot then it cuts to television footage. Part of me goes “awww I wanna see ‘Zilla smash that MUTO!” but I totally recognise that this is how the film operates. Building and building the suspense up until the climax where it ultimately pays off. The finale is one of the best monster fights I’ve seen. Some joke that this film should be called “Godzilla: In association with the U.S Military” but the great irony is that despite how much they are focused on, they barely impact on the daily lives of Godzilla and the MUTOs. “The arrogance of man is thinking that nature is in our control, and not the other way around” indeed. There should have been more Cranston and Watanabe, but oh well. The King is back.

Robocop (2014)

In almost every review I’ve seen about the new Robocop there has been at least some comparison to the Verhoeven’s 1987 classic and that can only come off badly for this latest iteration. I would like to do a review that completely ignores the original Robocop, but really, it seems difficult to separate the two. The main difference between the two films is that, as I tweeted, the original Robocop was about a machine that discovers it’s a human, whereas the new reboot is about a human discovering he’s a machine. It’s an interesting reversal, but the new film doesn’t really explore the concept in any meaningful way. I’m not saying that there’s not enough action and there’s too much talking, just that the talking is uninteresting. It’s way too long and the action setpieces are really pretty boring, unlike the original’s brevity and inventive action sequences. The 12A certificate was a surefire sign that this was not going to be as good as the original. The ultra gore in the original had a satirical edge to it, I mean, you can’t tell me that this is supposed to be taken seriously. But I suppose you have to get bums on seats these days, and 12A is the safest way to do it.

Bland, forgettable yet not entirely terrible. It could’ve been a whole lot worse.

The Amazing Spider-Man 2

I have not seen this. And I have a section for it. Why?

Well I’ll just explain why I didn’t go and see it: I wasn’t a fan of the first ASM, and this looks like more of the same schizophrenic dross. Too many plot points, not enough real characters. Yes I’m a Tobey Maguire and Raimi Spider-Man fanboy but I still wanted to like TASM and I’d like to enjoy the sequel but I feel I’ll go in expecting (or even wanting) it to be terrible. I’ll catch up later in the year, but I ain’t adding to the box office numbers.

Future Plans

I plan to write about Nolan’s Batman Trilogy and hopefully explain why: Begins is best, Dark Knight is a masterpiece and why Rises was ultimately disappointing. I will try to go in depth about how exactly Nolan got it so right with the genre and created easily the best two superhero films. If time permits, I will try to write about superhero films in general, and why are so bloody popular, while highlighting what makes the good ones good, and the bad ones bad.

Next year at university I have to do a dissertation (Scary!!), what I’m thinking at the moment is that I will write about the HBO drama True Detective. So possibly expect some shorter pieces regarding that I as conduct research. Other options include: The films of Paul Thomas Anderson, looking at some modernist authors such as T.S. Eliot, Ezra Pound, William Carlos Williams, or some delicious postmodern/beat stuff.

I also have some other things planned, you’ll have to wait and see.

Greg

